State Symbols of Louisiana

Louisiana is a constituent state in the Deep South and South Central regions of the United States. When France claimed Louisiana in 1862, the state was named after King Louis XIV of France. 

Louisiana is nicknamed the Pelican State. The brown pelican is the state bird of Louisiana and is one of three Louisiana symbols featured on the U.S. mint’s bicentennial Louisiana quarter. It also appears on the state flag, great seal, and official state painting of Louisiana. 

Louisiana is one of America’s largest salt producers due to its numerous salt mines. The state is also known as the Sugar State. It grows a huge amount of sugar cane in addition to cotton, rice, and sweet potatoes. This nickname refers to the sugar cane grown in the state.

In 1992, the Louisiana black bear was declared to be the state mammal.

Louisiana is bordered to the west by Texas, to the north by Arkansas, to the east by Mississippi, and to the south by the Gulf of Mexico. The Mississippi River forms a significant portion of its eastern boundary. Louisiana is most famous for its Louisiana Creole culture, which is a mix of Haitian, French, Spanish, Native American, and African influences.

Baton Rouge is the state capital. Louisiana is also home to New Orleans, a historic port city famous for its distinctive cuisine, jazz, and spectacular Mardi Gras festivities. New Orleans is the state’s largest city.

National Louisiana Day is celebrated on 9th November every year.

The fun fact is that the largest bridge crossing a body of water in the world is located in Louisiana. The bridge, known as the Lake Pontchartrain Causeway, is approximately 24 miles long.

With a total area of 52,375 sq mi (135,651 sq km), it is the twentieth-smallest by area. The population of Louisiana is 4,657,757, according to the United States Census 2020, making it the twenty-fifth most populous of the 50 U.S. states.

Initially colonized by the French in the 18th century, it was acquired by the United States in the famous Louisiana Purchase in 1803, and it was admitted to the union in 1812, becoming the 18th U.S. state. 

With the rise of offshore oil and gas production after World War II, Louisiana witnessed more rapid development. Soybeans are a prominent agricultural crop, as are tree growing and shrimp fishing. The primary mineral resources are petroleum and natural gas.

In 1900, the magnolia blossom was named Louisiana’s official flower. The state motto is “Union, Justice, and Confidence”.

While there is no official language in Louisiana., it is a multilingual state, with English being the primary spoken language since the adoption of the new constitution in 1921.

State Information

Official Language No official language
State Rank 31
Demonym(s) Louisianian Louisianais (Cajun or Creole heritage) Luisiano (Spanish descendants)
Nickname Bayou State, Creole State; Pelican State (official), Sportsman's Paradise, The Boot
Formation Date April 30, 1812
Coordinates Lat: 28° 56′ N to 33° 01′ N, Long: 88° 49′ W to 94° 03′ W

Motto of Louisiana

"Union, Justice, Confidence"

State symbols of Louisiana 👇

State location

Guess the Flags Quiz

State Flag of Louisiana