UNITED KINGDOM

Posted on December 28, 2020 by Naeem Noor





Great Britain is a small country in the northwest of Europe. The full name of the country is the United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland. The capital of Great Britain is London. It consists of four "historical provinces": England, Scotland, Wales, and Northern Ireland. The state is located in the British Isles. The area of Great Britain is 243 809 km².

National composition: English-81.5%, Scottish-9.6%, Irish-2.4%, Welsh-1.9%, people from the West Indies, India, Pakistan, etc. - 2.8%. Languages: English, Welsh (spoken by about a quarter of the population of Wales), Scottish dialect of Gaelic (about 60 thousand people in Scotland).

The state religion is Anglican (27 million people) in England and Wales (the head of the church is the monarch), Presbyterian in Scotland (headed by the General Assembly, which includes representatives of both clergy and laity), Roman Catholic - 9 million people, Muslims - 1.6 million people.

The state currency is the pound sterling, Pound, British Pound (£). 1 pound sterling consists of 100 pence.

The country code of the United Kingdom is +44 and the domain is .uk.

The national symbols of Great Britain are its flag, the Royal Coat of Arms, and the national anthem.

During the heyday of Great Britain as a colonial power, British cuisine was strongly influenced by the cuisine of "overseas" countries, primarily India. For example, the Anglo-Indian chicken dish — tikka masala - is considered a real British "national dish".

The most popular sports in the U.K. are football, cricket, rugby, golf, track and field, badminton, squash, and curling. In England and Scotland, football is considered a national sport, and it is a passion of many Britons.

Tea is a traditional British drink. So, the British drink 165 million cups of tea every day, while the majority (98%) drink it with milk, and only 30% add sugar to tea. Tea is not only a traditional drink, but one of the national symbols of Britain.

Rishi Sunak is the current Prime minister of the United Kingdom, and King Charles III (Monarch) is the President.

- Further information regarding the symbols and knowledge of the United Kingdom can be found in the table of contents -

There are no comments yet.