State Symbols of Wyoming

Last updated on January 22nd, 2023 by Editorial Staff

By | Updated on January 22, 2023

Reviewed by Rittika

Wyoming is a constituent state of the United States of America. It is located in the Mountain West sub-region of the Western United States.

Wyoming earned the nickname Equality State because it was the first state to grant women the constitutional right to vote. This is more than 50 years before the rest of the country. Wyoming is also called the Cowboy State because the bucking bronco is used as a state symbol. The nickname suggests that ranching has historically played a significant role in the state’s economy and culture. More than two-thirds of the state’s land area is used for livestock grazing, and the state’s rangelands are well adapted for the production of animals.

The Spanish Empire was the first to claim southern Wyoming during European exploration. It joined that republic after Mexico attained independence. Mexico lost the Mexican-American War, and the United States took control of this territory in 1848. Although the U.S. cavalry and Native Americans continued to fight for control of the region, Wyoming became a U.S. territory in 1868. On July 10, 1890, Wyoming joined the Union as the 44th state.

A Shoshone lady named Sacajawea (1788–1812) accompanied and helped the Lewis and Clark Expedition in their discovery of the American West. In 2004, Wyoming made the Sacajawea golden dollar its official state coin.

It is bordered by South Dakota and Nebraska to the east, Montana to the north and northwest, Utah to the southwest, Colorado to the south, and Idaho to the west.
Cheyenne is both the state’s capital as well as the largest city in Wyoming.

Wyoming is the tenth largest state by area with a total area of 97,813 sq mi (253,334 sq km).

According to the United States Census 2020, the state’s total population is 576,851 making it the least populous state in the U.S.

Wyoming was one of the last states to establish an official state flag in 1917.

An interesting fact about the state is the famous museum of wildlife art. The National Museum of Animal Art is a museum dedicated to the preservation and display of wildlife art. It is situated in Jackson Hole, Wyoming, in the United States. It is the only museum in the country exclusively devoted to wildlife art. The museum contains a sculpture trail that is three-quarters of a mile long. Life-size sculptures of moose and buffalo can be seen there, appearing to race through the mountains.

The majority of coal in the United States is produced in Wyoming. Tourism and the production of minerals including coal, natural gas, oil, and trona make up the majority of Wyoming’s economy.
“Equal Rights” serves as Wyoming’s official state motto. In 1955, “Wyoming” was chosen as the state song.

The Western meadowlark was declared the state bird of Wyoming in 1927. In 1917, Wyoming adopted the Indian paintbrush as its official state flower.
In 1996, Wyoming made English its official state language.

State Information

Official Language English
State Rank 10
Demonym(s) Wyomingite, Wyomingian
Nickname Equality State (official); Cowboy State; Big Wyoming
Formation Date July 10, 1890
Coordinates Lat: 41°N to 45°N, Long: 104°3'W to 111°3'W

State seal

Motto of Wyoming

"Equal Rights"

State symbols of Wyoming 👇

State location

Guess the Flags Quiz

Sharing is caring 🤗

State Flag of Wyoming