State Symbols of Uttarakhand

Last updated on January 22nd, 2023 by Editorial Staff

Uttarakhand’s history dates back to the mythical period. According to mythology, the Pandavas traveled here, and the Mahabharata and Ramayana were written here. However, little is known about the region’s past despite signs of human occupancy here since prehistoric times.
Uttarakhand is currently divided into Kumaun and Garhwal, but it has been ruled by Katyuri Dynasties, Chand Dynasties, Gorkharaj, and the British. Katyuri Dynasty reigned from 2500 BC to 770 AD, Chand Dynasty reigned from 770 AD to 1790 AD, Gorkha monarchs reigned from 1790 AD to 1815 AD, and British rulers reigned from 1815 AD until India’s freedom. The Chandel Rajputs of the Chandra dynasty ruled for over 1000 years after the Katyuri dynasty. The Khas ruler ruled for around 200 years as well.
On November 9, 2000, Uttaranchal, India’s 27th state, was carved out of Uttar Pradesh, and in January 2007, the new state was renamed Uttarakhand, which means “northern region,” which was the area’s original name.

Creation of Uttarakhand State

Uttarakhand was formed as a separate state after being separated from Uttar Pradesh in 2000; residents originally expressed the demand for independence in 1938 during a special session of the Indian National Congress in Srinagar. During the session, Pandit Jawaharlal Nehru supported the demand of residents of the hill region for an agency to make decisions based on their circumstances. However, the movement gained traction much later, in July 1979, when the Uttarakhand Kranti Dal (UKD) was formed in Mussoorie to secure the foundation of a separate hill state. During the boiling national politics over the Mandal and Ayodhya Ram temple disputes in 1989, the BJP also launched the Uttaranchal Sanyukt Sangharsh Samiti to advocate separate statehood for the hill area.

Culture, Language, and Festival of Uttarakhand

For centuries, Uttarakhand, also known as Dev Bhoomi, has been a religious and spiritual knowledge center. Uttarakhand’s history and culture are intertwined with religion and are honored throughout the state.   The majority of the state is divided into two regions: Garhwal and Kumaon. It also includes Jaunsaries, Tibetan refugees, and Bokshas, among other things.
Uttarakhand is known for its ‘Pahari’ culture. Folk dance, music, and festivals play an important role in Uttarakhand culture. The splendor of the Himalayas and old temples grace the land.
The multiethnic population of Uttarakhand is spread throughout two recognized geocultural regions: the Garhwal, which roughly corresponds to the state’s northern half, and the Kumaun, which encompasses the state’s southeast. The official language of the state is Hindi. The primary language is Hindustani, which incorporates terminology from both Hindi and Urdu. Uttarakhand also speaks Garhwali and Kumauni (both Pahari languages), Punjabi, and Nepali.
Traditional Hindu festivals are celebrated with zeal here. In addition, the Garhwali culture has its own festivals, such as: Harela parv, phooldei, basant panchama, khichdi sankrant, and ganga Dussehra.
Religious gatherings in Uttarakhand would be incomplete without folk singing and dancing.
Jaguars are religious offerings made to the ancestors and their ghosts.
Epics such as the Mahabharata and Ramayana are read aloud. It is thought that the gods descend to earth and dance with the people.
Mangal geet, played during wedding rituals, is another type of folk music.

Geography of Uttarakhand

With 13 districts, Uttarakhand is divided into Garhwal and Kumaon. Dehradun, the largest city in the region and a railhead, serves as the interim capital of Uttarakhand. Uttarakhand’s geography reveals that it is bordered in the northwest by Himachal Pradesh and the south by Uttar Pradesh, and it shares international boundaries with Nepal and China. Natural resources are numerous in the state. Uttarakhand is home to well-known Himalayan peaks like Nanda Devi, Kedarnath, Trishul, Bandarpunch, Mt Kamet, and significant glaciers such as Gangotri Pindari, Milam, and Khatling. Rivers such as the Ganga, Yamuna, Ramganga, and Sharda shape the topography of this region. Uttarakhand is home to twelve of the country’s most important ecological zones.
Uttarakhand (previously Uttaranchal) is an Indian state bordered to the north by China and to the east by Nepal and the Indian states of Himachal Pradesh and Uttar Pradesh. It contains 13 districts, and it is the 18th largest state (53,484 km2) and the 19th most populous (10.11 million inhabitants). Dehradun is the state’s largest and capital city, covering an area of 102 km2 and housing a population of 706,124 people. In that order, the second, third, and fourth-largest cities are Haridwar, Roorkee, and Haldwani. The cities of Uttarakhand are as follows Almora, Dehradun, Haldwani, Haridwar, Joshimath, Kashipur, Khatima, Kotdwar, Mussoorie, Nainital, Pantnagar, Pauri, Purola, Ramnagar, Ranikhet, Rishikesh, Roorkee, Srinagar, Uttarkashi, Vikas Nagar.

The picturesque Uttarakhand is one of India’s new states, formed on November 9, 2000, from a section of Uttar Pradesh. The most famous attractions are pilgrimage sites such as Haridwar, Rishikesh, Badrinath, and Kedarnath; exotic hill stations such as Mussorie, Almora, Ranikhet, and Nainital; and national parks such as Corbett National Park and Rajaji National Park.

Places to Visit in Uttarakhand

The capital of Uttarakhand is Dehradun, a vibrant city surrounded by picturesque vistas of Mussoorie’s mountains. Dehradun is one of the most popular tourist destinations in Uttarakhand.

Mussoorie, the ‘Queen of Hills,’ is a picturesque hill station. The journey from Dehradun to Mussoorie is full of gorgeous views and beautiful landscapes, making this destination one of the top spots to visit in Uttarakhand. Mussoorie’s enchanting beauty easily ranks among Uttarakhand’s top ten places to visit.

Nainital is famous as one of the best destinations to visit in Uttarakhand, located between the majestic mountains and right in the lap of Naini Lake; it is surrounded by mountains from every corner, presenting a majestic view of the Himalayas. Hence, the ‘Lake City of India’ is a popular tourist destination in Uttarakhand.

Rishikesh is a spiritualist’s paradise and one of Uttarakhand’s best places to visit. This lovely city radiates a rustic appeal and a contagious spiritual vibe. Rishikesh is one of the nicest destinations to visit in Uttarakhand, thanks to its historic temples and popular eateries.

The forested wildlife sanctuary, Jim Corbett National Park, is one of India’s northernmost state’s top ten places to visit. Jim Corbett National Park is one of Uttarakhand’s most popular tourist sites. Over 500 bird species and 400 distinct tree species can be found in the park.

One of the four Char Dham pilgrimage Yatras and top sites to visit in Uttarakhand is the Badrinath Temple, devoted to Lord Vishnu. According to Hindu legend, God Vishnu sat in meditation here. The temple, located at a height of 10,279 feet, is surrounded by the snow-clad Himalayas and the Alaknanda River. Hence, the spiritual significance and cleanliness of the Badrinath Temple attract many worshippers.

Uttarakhand ‘Dev Bhoomi,’ nestled in the lap of the Himalayas, is a wonderful collection of unique locations in India. The locations to visit in Uttarakhand include hill stations, pilgrimage sites, magnificent landscapes, adventurous adventures, and tranquil ashrams.

State Information

Official Language Hindi
State Rank 19
Demonym(s) Uttarakhandi
Formation Date 9 November 2000
Coordinates Lat: 30.0668° N, Long: 79.0193° E

State seal

Motto of Uttarakhand

Satyameva Jayate-"Truth alone triumphs"

State symbols of Uttarakhand 👇

State location

Guess the Flags Quiz

Sharing is caring 🤗

State Flag of Uttarakhand