NEW YORK

Posted on October 5, 2021 by Naeem Noor





New York is a constituent state located in the Northeastern United States. New York is officially known as the State of New York. The state was given its name in honor of the British Duke of York. Because of its national and global significance, New York is known as *The Empire State*. Since George Washington referred to New York as "The Seat of The Empire," many analysts think that is how the Empire State got its nickname.

Before the early European colonization, the territory of modern-day New York had been inhabited by Native American tribes for about 5000 years. In 1624, the Dutch established their first settlement along the Hudson River; two years later, they founded the colony of New Amsterdam on Manhattan Island. After the British took control of the area in 1664, it was given the name New York. New York became a United States colony after the American Revolution in 1776, and eventually a state in 1788. New York became the 11th state to join the Union on July 26, 1788. George Washington was inaugurated as the nation's first president on April 30, 1789, at Federal Hall on Wall Street.

The state is bordered to the south by New Jersey and Pennsylvania, and to the east by Connecticut, Massachusetts, and Vermont; it has a marine boundary with Rhode Island east of Long Island, as well as an international border with the Canadian provinces of Quebec to the north and Ontario to the northwest. New York is the only state that borders both the Atlantic Ocean and the Great Lakes. There are about 70,000 miles of rivers and streams in New York.

With a total area of 54,555 sq mi (141,297 sq km), New York is the twenty-seventh largest state by area. The state's total population, according to the census 2020, is 20,201,249 making it the fourth most populous state in the United States.

New York became the first state to adopt a constitution in 1777. In 1797, the capital was relocated from New York City to Albany. The most populated city in the state is New York City (NYC).

An interesting fact about New York State is its popular Niagara Falls. Every second, 750,000 gallons of water crash down over Niagara Falls, which borders New York and Canada. The Niagara River generates enough hydroelectric power to power more than a fourth of New York and Ontario combined. Every year around 12 million tourists visit Niagara Falls. The Statue of Liberty, a UNESCO World Heritage Site, is also located in New York.

In 2009, New York selected "I Love New York" as the official state song. The same year, "I Love NY" was designated as the official state slogan.

In 1955, the Rose was named the official state flower of New York. In 1970, the Eastern bluebird was named the state bird.

"Excelsior" is the official state motto of New York, which means "Ever upward". The motto also appears on the state seal and the flag of New York.

New York State has no official language; however, English is the most widely spoken language

New York

(69.6%), followed by Spanish (15.2%), including many others.

New York