COLORADO

Posted on September 30, 2021 by Naeem Noor





Colorado is the constituent state of the United States of America. The Spanish referred to the region as "Colorado" for its red-colored earth. Congress selected the name for Colorado as a Territory in 1861. It is also known as the *Centennial State* because it became a state one hundred years after the United States Declaration of Independence was signed.

Denver is the state capital and the most populated city in Colorado.

Despite only having the Rocky Mountains making up about half of its land, it is classified as one of the Mountain states. Colorado is well-known for its stunning scenery, wildlife, and several different activities, including hiking, mountain biking, horse riding, skiing, canoeing, and simple relaxation in the natural surroundings.

It is bordered to the north by Wyoming, to the northeast by Nebraska, to the east by Kansas, to the southeast by Oklahoma, to the south by New Mexico, and to the west by Utah. The state, which sits atop the Rocky Mountains, is divided into three physiographic regions: the southern Rocky Mountains and mesas of western Colorado; the plains, an area of eastern Colorado that is semi-arid; and the Colorado Piedmont, which is in the state's center and is home to the majority of its residents.

With a total area of 104,094 sq mi (269,603 sq km), Colorado is America's eighth-largest state in terms of geography.

Colorado is considered the 21st century's most populous state in the United States. The state's population was 5,773,714 according to the 2020 United States Census.

The region was first discovered by Europeans in the late 1500s, and with the Treaty of Guadalupe Hidalgo that brought an end to the Mexican-American War (1846-48), it was ceded to the United States in 1848. The finding of gold in Colorado in 1858 attracted numerous immigrants.

On February 28, 1861, the Territory of Colorado was established, and on August 1, 1876, U.S. President Ulysses S. Grant signed Proclamation 230, admitting Colorado to the Union as the 38th state.

Agriculture, cattle production, mining, and industry all play key roles in the economy. Government military sites and service industries have grown in prominence, and tourism is a significant source of finance for the state.

It's a surprising fact that, in Colorado, it's possible to be in more than two states at once. Colorado shares borders with Arizona, New Mexico, and Utah in its southwest corner. This is an unusual occurrence because it is the only place in America where the corners of four states all meet. So, if you're in Colorado, visit the Four Corners Monument and you'll be in Arizona, New Mexico, and Utah at the same time.

The state bird of Colorado is the Lark bunting, the state flowers are white and lavender Columbine, whereas, and the state motto is "Nil Sine Numine (Nothing Without Providence)".

The official language of the state is English.

- Learn about Colorado flag color codes and their meanings -